--- title: "Deleting a Person" slug: "deleting-a-person" updated: 2026-04-29T15:13:02Z published: 2026-04-29T15:13:02Z canonical: "docs.avontus.com/deleting-a-person" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.avontus.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deleting a Person You may need to delete a person. Note that a person cannot be deleted if they are in use, this includes dismantled Scaffolds and Requests. You will need to [delete any completed Requests](https://docs.avontus.com/docs/deleting-a-request), [Scaffolds](https://docs.avontus.com/docs/deleting-a-scaffold) or Activities that the user is assigned to before you can delete a user. It may be beneficial to edit a user with a new name or email rather than deleting every Request or Scaffold assigned to the previous user. 1. From the **Map** screen, click **People** in the left-hand menu  ![](https://cdn.document360.io/ae69c864-58f0-4711-91e1-d1c2f7dff95f/Images/Documentation/image-1777475527563.png) 2. In the **People** screen select a user and click **Delete** **![](https://cdn.document360.io/ae69c864-58f0-4711-91e1-d1c2f7dff95f/Images/Documentation/image-1777475565709.png)** 3. Click **Yes, Delete** to confirm the deletion of this user ![](https://cdn.document360.io/ae69c864-58f0-4711-91e1-d1c2f7dff95f/Images/Documentation/2c8b3eab-2950-4f3b-83c9-bbd0327ae984.png) The user will be deleted unless they are assigned to a request or scaffold even if the scaffold has been dismantled and rejected. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/ae69c864-58f0-4711-91e1-d1c2f7dff95f/Images/Documentation/4f2a1012-bdb2-4c4d-b836-15df72c6a875.png)