Moving a Database to a New Server
  • 25 Sep 2023
  • 2 Minutes to read
  • Contributors
  • Dark
    Light

Moving a Database to a New Server

  • Dark
    Light

Article Summary

The following instructions detail how to move your Quantify database to a new server.  

Important: You should only move a database when replacing or changing the hosting server.  Always contact Avontus Support before changing server or other database hosting information.

Install SQL Server on the New Server

These steps can be completed without requiring users to log out of the database.

To install SQL Server on the new server:

  1. Install SQL Server on the new server.
    This should be the same version of SQL server (or greater) that is installed on your current server. For our basic step by step instructions for this step, refer to step 2: Install SQL Server 2017 Express.
  2. Install Quantify and Quantify's Database Tools on the new server.
    Note: This is not a requirement
    For complete instructions for this step, refer to Installing Quantify. It is recommended that you update your current installation of Quantify to the most current version before completing the next steps.  To see if you have the most current version installed, login to Quantify, click the Help menu and select About
  3. Launch Quantify Database Tools and create a new database as detailed in Step 6: Create a Blank Database.
    This sets the appropriate permissions for the restore of the actual database.
  4. In Quantify Database Tools, click Delete and delete the database that was created in the previous step.  You are now ready to restore.

Back Up and Restore the Existing Database

These steps require users to log out of Quantify to ensure data is not entered in the database after a backup is created for the migration.

To back up and restore the existing database:

  1. On the current server, create a backup of the database using SQL Server Management Studio.
    For assistance with this step, refer to the Microsoft help files for your version of SQL Server, such as http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/586561fc-dfbb-4842-84f8-204a9100a534
    You can also use the procedures found here: Using Quantify's Database (DB) Tools.
    The backup file will have the file extension .bak. 
  2. Save this file to the SQL Server folder on the new computer.
    If you prefer to save to another location, you may need to use SQL Server Management Studio to successfully complete the restore.
  3. Using Database Tools
    1. Click Restore.

      The Restore Database dialog appears.
    2. Click Browse.
      The Restore from File dialog appears.
    3. Navigate to the directory in which the appropriate database file resides and click Save.
      The Restore Database dialog returns.
    4. Click OK.

      When the restoration is complete, a confirmation dialog appears.
    5. Click OK.

      The database is now ready for use.
      You can find these steps in detail here: Using Quantify's Database (DB) Tools.
  4. When you first use Quantify to open the migrated database, it will prompt you to activate the database. 
  5.  Email this activation request to support@avontus.com.
    The activation request will receive a prompt response.
    After the migration is complete, the Quantify clients must be redirected to login to the new server location. 
  6. To do this:
    1. Launch Quantify on the client.
      The Quantify Login dialog appears.
    2. Click the Connect to a Database or Remote Server button ().
      The Connection Settings dialog appears.
    3. Click the Remote Server radio button.
    4. Click in the Server Address text field and enter the address of the Quantify database.
    5. As necessary, click the Connect Using SSL checkbox, to put a check in it.
    6. Click OK.
      The Quantify Login dialog returns.
      You can find these steps in detail here: Using Quantify to Log In to a Remote Quantify Database.
  7. Log in with the same credentials as before.
  8. To prevent segmentation of data, it is highly recommended that you disable user access to the current servers/databases once the migration is complete.
    You can retain the backups and remove the active databases from these instances once the new connections are established.

Was this article helpful?